top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Neese

A post for the lonely

I am now about to share something that I wish I would have read a long time ago. How to be alone. Hmmm what a concept. I don’t think there’s necessarily an answer to this question. But, there were ways that definitely helped me adapt to being alone after being so codependent for a long time. My friends gave me the idea to post about this. I guess I’m not the only one that struggles with feeling alone sometimes, and neither are you. Freshman year of college was definitely one of my lowest, loneliest points. Trying to adapt to college life and going through a break up at the same time was hard to get over. But little did I know, it was a time I really got to figure myself out and fall in love with life all over again.

It gets really hard to be alone. Especially after a break up. It’s taken me a long time after each break up to re-learn how to be okay on my own, and independent. For me, the key has definitely been time and focusing on the little things that make me happy. It’s really hard at first. Getting so caught up in your own head, not knowing how to function or even process thoughts on your own in a positive way. We can get so dependent on our significant other that we forget how to live as a single force. And although being alone can suck, if you look at it in a positive light and as a time to grow, you will really begin to be appreciative of the time you get to explore your own self again.

Learning to be on my own and be okay, has given me a sense of independence and confidence. A feeling I never really got whenever I was in a relationship. During time on your own, you get to really figure yourself out; find new things to keep you occupied, meet new people, etc. It’s a time that you get to figure out how to love yourself again, after spending time relying on someone else to do it for you. I said this in my earlier post, and I’ll say it again… WE ARE STILL SO YOUNG AND HAVE SO MUCH MENTAL DEVELOPING TO DO. It’s okay to not be okay sometimes, but you learn and you grow and you get through it. And it is a time worth cherishing. So chin up, once you learn to re-love yourself all over, you will never be alone!




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page